Skincare Secrets

Working outside all day in the wind, rain and sun can take its toll on your skin so I do all I can to protect and look after it. I’ve always had a good skin care routine but since becoming a dog walker I like to take extra care of it. In this post I thought I’d share my skin care secrets and absolute favourite products.

lush2

Something I have used religiously every morning and night since I was around 18 is this Aloe Vera Moisturising Lotion by Forever Living. I absolutely swear by it, it’s my favourite moisturiser and the few times I have tested other moisturisers I have always gone back to this one. It contains aloe, jojoba oil, collagen and elastin which Forever Living states ‘leaves the skin feeling soft and supple whilst maintaining natural PH balance.’ I’ve never used anti-ageing creams and for 32 I think my skin looks pretty line and wrinkle free which I’m positive is down to this lotion. It also acts as a good primer and base for make up. You only need a small amount to cover your whole face which is great.

bodyshop

Even though the Aloe moisturiser is amazing I felt like I wanted to start using an overnight oil or serum to add as much moisture as possible, especially as I am outside all day. This Vitamin E Overnight Serum-in-oil by The Body Shop has been a great added moisture boost. It contains wheat germ oil, sunflower, jojoba, sesame and soya oils from Community Fair Trade farmers which is another plus to this product. I noticed a difference after the first use of this oil, the next morning my skin felt silky smooth and it’s definitely a product I will be re purchasing. Although you only need a few drops so I can imagine it will last for months!

lush

For a little treat for my skin and a more intense clean once a week I use the Mask of Magnaminty face mask from Lush. It contains peppermint oil, ground aduki beans, vanilla and honey. It smells amazing and when I wash it off it just feels like it’s really deep cleaned my skin and leaves it feeling refreshed and smooth.

drink

Then there’s good old fashioned water. My boyfriend bought me this water bottle which has really made me drink so much more water than I used to. I drink at least 3 of these bottles a day and I find having the times written on the side does make a difference and helps me keep track of how much I’ve had and how much more I should be drinking.

Leave a Reply

